DIRECTED ENERGY PROFESSIONAL SOCIETY


Directed Energy Systems Symposium
25-29 September 2017 Monterey, California





 

Overview

Symposium Contacts

Agenda

Short Courses

PIBM Workshop

Location & Hotel

Registration & Fees

Companions

Security

Local Weather

Call for Papers

Submissions

Exhibits

Catered Event

Hospitality Suites

 

A Symposium on Current DE Systems

Marine Corps Ground Based Air Defense

Navy Laser Weapon System

Army High Energy Laser Mobile Test Truck

Symposium Overview

  • Classified Tuesday overviews of these systems
    • GBAD- Marine Corps Ground Based Air Defense
    • HADES - Air Force High-power Adaptive Directed Energy Weapon
    • HELMTT- Army High Energy Laser Mobile Test Truck
    • HIJENKS - Joint Navy-Air Force High Power Electromagnetic Non-Kinetic Strike
    • LWSD - Navy Laser Weapon System Demonstrator
    • SHiELD - Air Force Self-Protect High Energy Laser Demonstrator .
  • System-oriented breakout technical sessions
  • Exhibits
  • Short Courses
    • Active Denial Applications
    • HPM Modeling and Simulation Tools for Test & Evaluation
    • Introduction to the DoD Test & Evaluation Process
    • Laser Deconfliction
    • Modeling & Simulation Verification, Validation & Accreditation
    • Systems Engineering for Directed Energy Systems
    • Tools for Transitioning Technology
    • Wargaming
  • PIBM (Power In the Bucket Metric) Workshop on Monday


I want to...
Attend Present Exhibit Take a Class

The 2017 Directed Energy Systems Symposium will be held on 25-29 September in Monterey, California, at the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and at the Naval Postgraduate School.

The DE Systems Symposium focuses on systems aspects of DE in a limited-attendance environment. Portions of the Systems Symposium will be conducted at the Secret level, and attendance at all sessions is limited to U.S. citizens with security clearances, who are employees of the U.S. Government or its contractors.

Proceedings of the Symposium will be published. See our Online Store for proceedings of previous Directed Energy Systems Symposia.

Program and Agenda

Substantial program changes have been made to the 2017 DE Systems Symposium. These changes are a reaction to the increasing opportunities to transition Directed Energy Weapon concepts. The opening plenary morning session will be replaced by a full day of system level talks. DEPS has received confirmation that six DoD efforts will be participating. These invited talks include LWSD, GBAD, HELMTT, HIJENKS, SHiELD and HADES. Following this exclusive event are two days of presentations and posters that focus on system level contributions. DEPS encourages the use of additional presentation time slots to further detail the systems. These presentations will be scheduled in the sessions following the plenary.

System focus areas for technical breakout sessions

  • System Trades
  • Applied Beam Control
  • Laser Maturation
  • Auxiliary Functions
  • Lessons Learned
  • Mission Models
  • Applied HPM
  • Lethality
  • Policy

This new format is designed to inform interested parties about the general state of this emerging militarily relevant technology. It also provides our research and development scientists and engineers with a comprehensive view of current technology needs.

The preliminary overview of the Directed Energy Systems Symposium agenda is provided here.

Preliminary Overview Agenda

  Monday, 25 September
Short Courses
PIBM Workshop

  Tuesday, 26 September
DEW System Plenary Talks - All Day
Evening Reception

  Wednesday, 27 September
Intel Brief - Morning
Poster Session - Mid- to Late Morning
Technical Sessions - Remander of Day

  Thursday, 28 September
Technical Sessions - All Day

  Friday, 29 September
Closing Plenary
Symposium Adjourns 1100
 


This online listing of submitted abstracts provides some insight into the technical program. It shows abstracts submitted for which the authors have granted permission to be included in this online list. More may be added, so check back later for a more complete list. Also, abstracts can be withdrawn, rejected, or change titles before the conference, so not every abstract listed here will become a presentation at the Symposium; however, most of them will.




Symposium Contacts
 
  Symposium Chair
  Dan Marker (505) 846-2871 Dan.Marker@us.af.mil
 
  Symposium Committee
  Christopher Behre (540) 653-8616 Christopher.Behre@navy.mil
  Ryan Carn (505) 853-6745 Ryan.Carn.2@us.af.mil
  Arthur Hassall (505) 853-7939 Arthur.Hassall@us.af.mil
  Mark Henderson (760) 939-2689 Mark.Henderson@navy.mil
  David Kiel (540) 653-8079 David.H.Kiel@navy.mil
  Nicholas Morley (505) 846-0805 Nicholas.Morley@us.af.mil
  Douglas Nelson (256) 955-1488 Douglas.H.Nelson3.civ@mail.mil
  Mary Lou Robinson (505) 846-4040 MaryLou.Robinson@us.af.mil
  Fernando Rodriguez (937) 255-5733 Fernando.Rodriguez.3@us.af.mil
  Robert Roybal (505) 846-9368 Robert Roybal@us.af.mil
  Harry Sinsheimer (505) 248-8205 Harry.Sinsheimer@jto.hpc.mil
  Edward Trzcienski (505) 938-9224 Edward@aegistg.com
 
  Symposium Coordinator
  Cynnamon Spain (505) 998-4910 Cynnamon@deps.org
 
  Security, Registration, and Receipts
  Tiffany Bjelke (505) 998-4910 Tiffany@deps.org
 
  Short Courses
  Cristina Crowson (505) 998-4810 Cristina@deps.org
 




Copyright 2017 Directed Energy Professional Society   DHTML/JavaScript Menus by OpenCube
 
DEPS Policies and Terms of Use

Last updated: 22 July 2017