DIRECTED ENERGY PROFESSIONAL SOCIETY


20th Annual Directed Energy Science and Technology Symposium
26 February - 2 March 2018 Oxnard, California





 

Overview

Agenda

Short Courses

Symposium Contacts



Attendee Info

Location & Hotel

Local Weather

Registration & Fees

Security

Companions

Tour



Presenter Info

Call for Papers

Submissions

Release Forms



Exhibitor Info

Exhibits

Catered Event

Hospitality Suites

 

Symposium Overview

USS Paul Foster, the Self Defense Test Ship


Symposium Highlights

  • Early sign-in in Embassy Suites lobby
  • Plenary session of invited speakers
  • Breakout technical sessions at classified and unclassified levels
  • Optional tour at Port Hueneme
  • Co-located Directed Energy Education Workshop
  • Exhibits
  • Preliminary short course list
    • Introduction to High Energy Laser Systems
    • Introduction to High Power Microwave Systems
    • Introduction to Beam Control
    • Beam Directors 101
    • Introduction to Tri-Service Lethality Science
    • Atmospheric Laser Propagation
    • Thermal Management Technologies
    • High Power Microwave Modeling and Effects
    • Beam Control Technology Assessment Report
  • Introduction of newly elected DEPS Directors
  • Induction of DEPS Fellows


I want to...
Attend Present Exhibit Take a Class

The Annual Directed Energy Science and Technology Symposium will be held from 26 February to 2 March 2018 in Oxnard, California, at the Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach and at nearby off-site facilities.

The Annual DE S&T Symposium focuses on sub-systems and component research and development aspects of DE in a mixed access environment. Portions of the Symposium will be conducted at the Secret level, and others at the unclassified but limited distribution levels. The Symposium commitee intends to offer unclassified and open sessions so that all attendees will have participation options at all times.

Proceedings of the Symposium will be published. See our Online Store for proceedings of previous Annual Directed Energy Symposia.

Program and Agenda
NAVAIR Laser Facility

The preliminary technical agenda is available. This online listing of submitted abstracts provides more details for many of the presentations.

The DEPS Board of Directors has made substantial program changes to DEPS Symposia, which involve making their programs more distinct. What has been the Annual Directed Energy Symposium has been renamed the Annual Directed Energy Science and Technology Symposium. Its scope is now focused on the basic physics and engineering research and development to support directed energy, to distinguish it from the Directed Energy Systems Symposium. The program of the DE S&T Symposium will be composed of a collection of independent conferences. The Calls for Papers for these conferences will be available on this Web site.

Many of the features of the Annual DE Symposium have been retained, such as the seating of the newly elected DEPS Directors and the induction of new DEPS Fellows. In light of this continuity, the numbering of the Annual Directed Energy Symposium is retained. This will be the 20th Annual Directed Energy Science and Technology Symposium.

The overview of the Annual DE S&T Symposium agenda is provided here.

Preliminary Overview Agenda

  Monday, 26 February
Short Courses

  Tuesday, 27 February
Opening Plenary Talks - morning
Technical Breakout Sessions - afternoon
Reception - evening


  Wednesday, 28 February
Technical Breakout Sessions

  Thursday, 1 March
Technical Breakout Sessions

  Friday, 2 March
Optional Tour at Port Hueneme
 






Symposium Contacts
 
  Symposium Chair
  Mark Henderson (760) 939-2689 Mark.Henderson@navy.mil
 
  Conference Chairs and Contacts
 
  Advanced High Power Laser Conference
  Christopher Behre (540) 653-8616 Christopher.Behre@navy.mil
  Boris Zhdanov (719) 333-2109 Boris.Zhdanov.ctr@usafa.edu
 
  Beam Control Conference
  Amanda Clark (256) 955-5543 Amanda.B.Clark17.civ@mail.mil
  Arthur (Gar) Hassall (505) 846-3750 Arthur.Hassall@us.af.mil
  Robert Pawlak (540) 653-4057 Robert.Pawlak@navy.mil
  Patricia Wallentine (505) 853-1432 Patricia.Wallentine@mda.mil
  Sean Cutchin (540) 653-4672 Sean.Cutchin@navy.mil
  David Loomis (303) 898-3747 David@dnlconsultingco.com
  Evan Threlkeld (505) 853-0243 Evan.Threlkeld@us.af.mil
  Brett Hokr (256) 270-5668 Brett.H.Hokr.civ@mail.mil
 
  Counter Directed Energy Weapon Conference
  Joseph Miragliotta (240) 228-6224 Joseph.Miragliotta@jhuapl.edu
  Peter Morrison (703) 696-0553 Peter.A.Morrison@navy.mil
  Jonathan Vernon (937) 255-6636 x3019 Jonathan.Vernon.2@us.af.mil
 
  High Energy Laser Lethality Conference
  Robert Roybal (505) 846-9368 Robert.Roybal@us.af.mil
  Robert Ulibarri (505) 846-3282 Robert.Ulibarri.1@us.af.mil
  David Loomis (303) 898-3747 David@dnlconsultingco.com
  J. Thomas Schriempf (202) 781-1196 John.Schriempf@navy.mil
  Christopher Lloyd (540) 653-5675 Chris.Lloyd@navy.mil
  David Lyman (256) 975-6549 David.Lyman@radiancetech.com,
  Chuck LaMar (256) 955-3675 Charles.R.LaMar.civ@mail.mil
  Steven Baird (256) 955-1940 Steven.D.Baird.civ@mail.mil
 
  High Power Microwave Conference
  Matthew McQuage (540) 284-0457 Matthew.McQuage@navy.mil
 
  HPM Counter Unmanned Air Vehicle Workshop
  Ryan Hoffman Ryan.Hoffman@navy.mil
 
  Non-Lethal Directed Energy Weapons Conference
  David Law David.B.Law1@usmc.mil
 
  Ultrashort Pulse Laser Conference
  Brittany Lynn (619) 553-5090 BLynn@spawar.navy.mil
  Char Rusnak (202) 404-5642 Char.Rusnak@nrl.navy.mil
 
  Wireless Power Beaming Conference
  Avram Bar-Cohen Avram.Bar-Cohen@raytheon.com
  Paul Jaffe (202) 767-6616 Paul.Jaffe@nrl.navy.mil
 
  Symposium Coordinator
  Cynnamon Spain (505) 998-4910 Cynnamon@deps.org
 
  Security and Registration
  Tiffany Bjelke (505) 998-4910 Tiffany@deps.org
 
  Short Courses
  Cristina Crowson (505) 998-4910 Cristina@deps.org
 




Copyright 2018 Directed Energy Professional Society   DHTML/JavaScript Menus by OpenCube
 
DEPS Policies and Terms of Use

Last updated: 16 February 2018