20th Annual Directed Energy Science and Technology Symposium
26 February - 2 March 2018 Oxnard, California




Short Courses

Symposium Contacts


Symposium Overview

USS Paul Foster, the Self Defense Test Ship

Symposium Highlights

  • Early sign-in in Embassy Suites lobby
  • Plenary session of invited speakers
  • Breakout technical sessions at classified and unclassified levels
  • Optional tour at Port Hueneme
  • Co-located Directed Energy Education Workshop
  • Exhibits
  • Preliminary short course list
    • Introduction to High Energy Laser Systems
    • Introduction to High Power Microwave Systems
    • Introduction to Beam Control
    • Beam Directors 101
    • Introduction to Tri-Service Lethality Science
    • Atmospheric Laser Propagation
    • Thermal Management Technologies
    • High Power Microwave Modeling and Effects
    • Beam Control Technology Assessment Report
  • Introduction of newly elected DEPS Directors
  • Induction of DEPS Fellows

The Annual Directed Energy Science and Technology Symposium was held from 26 February to 2 March 2018 in Oxnard, California, at the Embassy Suites Mandalay Beach and at nearby off-site facilities.

The Annual DE S&T Symposium focused on sub-systems and component research and development aspects of DE in a mixed access environment. Portions of the Symposium were conducted at the Secret level, and others at the unclassified but limited distribution levels. The Symposium commitee offered unclassified and open sessions so that all attendees will have participation options at all times.

Proceedings of the Symposium are being published. See our Online Store for proceedings of this and previous Annual Directed Energy Symposia.

Program and Agenda

The technical agenda is available. An overview of the 2018 Annual DE S&T Symposium agenda is provided here.

Preliminary Overview Agenda

  Monday, 26 February
Short Courses

  Tuesday, 27 February
Opening Plenary Talks - morning
Technical Breakout Sessions - afternoon
Reception - evening

  Wednesday, 28 February
Technical Breakout Sessions

  Thursday, 1 March
Technical Breakout Sessions

  Friday, 2 March
Optional Tour at Port Hueneme

Symposium Contacts
  Symposium Chair
  Mark Henderson (760) 939-2689
  Conference Chairs and Contacts
  Advanced High Power Laser Conference
  Christopher Behre (540) 653-8616
  Boris Zhdanov (719) 333-2109
  Beam Control Conference
  Amanda Clark (256) 955-5543
  Arthur (Gar) Hassall (505) 846-3750
  Robert Pawlak (540) 653-4057
  Patricia Wallentine (505) 853-1432
  Sean Cutchin (540) 653-4672
  David Loomis (303) 898-3747
  Evan Threlkeld (505) 853-0243
  Brett Hokr (256) 270-5668
  Counter Directed Energy Weapon Conference
  Joseph Miragliotta (240) 228-6224
  Peter Morrison (703) 696-0553
  Jonathan Vernon (937) 255-6636 x3019
  High Energy Laser Lethality Conference
  Robert Roybal (505) 846-9368
  Robert Ulibarri (505) 846-3282
  David Loomis (303) 898-3747
  J. Thomas Schriempf (202) 781-1196
  Christopher Lloyd (540) 653-5675
  David Lyman (256) 975-6549,
  Chuck LaMar (256) 955-3675
  Steven Baird (256) 955-1940
  High Power Microwave Conference
  Matthew McQuage (540) 284-0457
  HPM Counter Unmanned Air Vehicle Workshop
  Ryan Hoffman
  Non-Lethal Directed Energy Weapons Conference
  David Law
  Ultrashort Pulse Laser Conference
  Brittany Lynn (619) 553-5090
  Char Rusnak (202) 404-5642
  Wireless Power Beaming Conference
  Avram Bar-Cohen
  Paul Jaffe (202) 767-6616
  Symposium Coordinator
  Cynnamon Spain (505) 998-4910
  Security and Registration
  Tiffany Bjelke (505) 998-4910
  Short Courses
  Cristina Crowson (505) 998-4910

Copyright 2018 Directed Energy Professional Society   DHTML/JavaScript Menus by OpenCube
DEPS Policies and Terms of Use

Last updated: 20 March 2018