DIRECTED ENERGY PROFESSIONAL SOCIETY


Directed Energy Systems Symposium
25 - 29 October 2021 Washington, D.C.





 

Overview

Symposium Contacts

Short Courses



Attendee Info

Location & Hotel

Registration & Fees

Companions

Security



Presenter Info

Call for Papers

Submit an abstract

Submissions

Release Forms



Exhibitor Info

Exhibits

Hosting Opportunities

Catered Event

Hospitality Suites

 

Symposium Overview

Symposium Overview

  • Half-day In-person Plenary on Tuesday
    • Classified overviews of DE systems
      • HELIOS
      • HELWS
      • DE M-SHORAD
      • and more!
  • In-person System-oriented breakout technical sessions
  • Limited Distribution Poster Session (TBD)
  • Exhibits and an Exhibitor Reception
  • Professional Development Short Courses
    • HEL Modeling
    • Warfighter 101
    • Combat Systems Engineering
    • Introduction to Counter DEW
    • Directed Energy Bio-Effects
    • Systems Engineering & Modular Open Systems Approach (MOSA)
    • HPM DE Weapons and their Effects
    • Atmospheric Laser Propagation

The 2021 Directed Energy Systems Symposium will be the first DEPS event held in-person in nearly 18 months. This Symposium will take place on 25-29 October in Washington, D.C. at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, 400 New Jersey Ave NW, 20001, and at an off-site location.

The DE Systems Symposium focuses on systems aspects of DE in a limited-attendance environment. Portions of the Systems Symposium are conducted at the Secret level, and attendance at all sessions are limited to U.S. citizens with security clearances, who are employees of the U.S. Government or its contractors.

Proceedings of the Symposium will be published. See our Online Store for proceedings of previous Directed Energy Systems Symposia.

Program and Agenda

An overview of the agenda is provided below.

Preliminary Overview Agenda

  Monday, 25 October
Short Courses

  Tuesday, 26 October
Half Day Plenary Session
Technical Breakout Sessions PM
Evening Reception

  Wednesday, 27 October
Limited Distribution Poster Session (TBD)
Technical Breakout Sessions

  Thursday, 28 October
AM/PM Technical Breakout Sessions

  Friday, 29 October
Closing Plenary
Symposium Adjourns
 

Substantial program changes were made to the DE Systems Symposium. These changes were a reaction to the increasing opportunities to transition Directed Energy Weapon concepts. The opening Tuesday morning plenary session will be full of system level talks with supporting technical breakout sessions following in the afternoon. Wednesday and Thursday will be comprised of oral presentations and posters that focus on system level contributions. DEPS encourages the use of these presentation time slots to further detail the systems discussed at the plenary.

System focus areas for technical breakout sessions include

  • Counter-Unmanned Aerial System Capabilities
  • HEL Systems & Needs
  • HEL Effects
  • HPM/HPRF Systems & Needs
  • HPM/HPRF Effects
  • CDEW Technologies
  • USPL Effects
  • Platform Integration
  • DEWRAP Process

This newer format was designed to inform interested parties about the general state of this emerging militarily relevant technology. It also provides our research and development scientists and engineers with a comprehensive view of current technology needs.




Symposium Contacts
 
  Symposium Chair
  Adam Aberle adam.m.aberle.civ@mail.mil
 
  Symposium Committee
  Counter-Unmanned Aerial Systems
  Don Seeley don.seeley@atacorp.com
 
  HEL Systems & Needs
  Joseph Paranto jparanto@ara.com
 
  HEL Effects
  Chris Lloyd chris.lloyd@navy.mil
 
  HPM/HPRF Systems & Needs
  Brad Hoff brad.hoff@us.af.mil
 
  HPM/HPRF Effects
  Ryan Hoffman ryan.hoffman@navy.mil
 
  CDEW Technologies
  John McElhenny john.e.mcelhenny3.civ@mail.mil
  Joe Miragliotta Joseph.Miragliotta@jhuapl.edu
 
  USPL Effects
  Joseph Penano joseph.penano@nrl.navy.mil
 
  Platform Integration
  Iain McKinnie iain.t.mckinnie@raytheon.com
 
  DE Manufacturing
  Jenny Niles jenny.f.niles.civ@mail.mil
 
  DEWRAP Process
  Dave Kiel david.h.kiel@navy.mil
 
  DE Bio-effects
  Robert Thomas robert.thomas.47@us.af.mil
 
  Symposium Coordinator
  Cynnamon Spain (505) 998-4910 Cynnamon@deps.org
 
  Security
  Kat Gonzales (505) 998-4910 Kat@deps.org
 
  Registration and Receipts
  Dawn Gutierrez (505) 998-4910 Dawn@deps.org
 
  Technical Program Coordinator,
Short Courses
  Cristina Crowson Cristina@deps.org
 
  Presentations and Release Forms
  Carolyn Bowman Graphic@deps.org
 




Copyright 2021 Directed Energy Professional Society   DHTML/JavaScript Menus by OpenCube
 
DEPS Policies and Terms of Use

Last updated: 21 September 2021