Eighth Annual Directed Energy Symposium
14-18 November 2005 Lihue, Hawaii

Co-Sponsored by the
Naval Sea Systems Command

Supported by grants from the
Office of Naval Research
Kauai Economic Development Board,
Mayor's Office of Economic Development,
Hawaii Tourism Authority,
Hawaii Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism

The Eighth Annual Directed Energy Symposium brought together researchers, managers, and policy makers from government offices, DoD, DoE, and other national laboratories, program offices, the intelligence community, industry, universities, and other scientific and engineering institutions for discussions of current programs, technology efforts, and the future of Directed Energy. This annual Symposium provides a forum for the exchange of technical information in fields related to the development, testing, and fielding of High Energy Laser (HEL) and High Power Microwave (HPM) systems.

Photo courtesy of Kaua'i Visitors Bureau

  • Invited and contributed technical papers
  • Classified and public sessions
  • Short courses
  • Distinguished plenary speakers
  • Reception
  • Luau
  • Installation of new DEPS Fellows
  • Introduction of new DEPS Directors
  • Best Paper awards
  • Poster paper reception
  • Industrial and government exhibits
  • Companions program
  • Golf tournament
  • Employment opportunities
  • Tours

Symposium Agenda

The detailed Symposium agenda is available here. Note: This PDF file is 3M in size, so you will experience a delay when loading the file. For those without high speed internet access, this delay may be significant.

Best Paper Awards

The Best Paper awards are made at each Symposium to selected papers in each of three categories, Best HEL Paper, Best HPM Paper, and Best Student Paper. These awards are based on the technical quality, importance to the future of DE, and clarity of the selected papers, as judged by a panel of experts. The awards include a plaque and a monetary award, underwritten by L-3 Communications, a DEPS sponsor.

The best paper awards for this year are:

Best Student Paper
"Mitigating Tilt Anisoplanatism in Dynamic Targeting Applications". The paper was presented by Maj Marcus Schulthess, a student at AFIT and was co-authored by Matthew Goda (AFIT) and Matthew Whiteley (Alliant Techsystems ATK Mission Research).

Best HEL Paper
"Toward a Mission-Appropriate Measure of Laser Beam Quality". The paper was presented at the Symposium by Sean Ross and was co-authored by Pete Latham, both of AFRL/DE.

Best HPM Paper
"Solid State Modulators for Directed Energy Applications". The paper was presented by Michael Kempkes and was co-authored by Jeffrey Casey, Ian Roth, Neal Butler, and Marcel Gaudreau, all of Diversified Technologies.


Unclassified proceedings of the Symposium were published on CD. The proceedings include all the material that is both unclassified and available for public release. Proceedings were mailed to all attendees and are available for sale through the DEPS online store. Limited distribution proceedings were also published on CD but were mailed only to qualified attendees.

Symposium Organizing Committee

Captain Roger McGinnis, ONR, Chair of the Symposium
Dr. William Baker, AFRL, Co-Chair of the Symposium

Program Committee
Mr. Edward Duff, AFRL
Dr. Roy Hamil, AFRL
Mr. Thomas Hussey, AFRL
Dr. Al Kehs, ARL
LCDR Stephen Meade, NAVSEA
CDR Scott Nessler, NAVSEA
Dr. Eugene Nolting, NAVSEA
Dr. Charles Oberly, WP AFB
Mr. Michael O'Neal, NAVSEA
Dr. Frank Peterkin, NSWC DD
Mrs. Jeanne Podracky, ONR
Dr. Garrett Polhamus, AFRL
Mr. Quentin Salter, ONR
Dr. J. Thomas Schriempf, NAVSEA
Dr. Sadegh Siahatgar, NAVSEA
Mr. Dennis Tressler, NAVSEA
Mr. John Wachs, SMDC
Mrs. Gail Williams, NAVSEA

Registration and Exhibits
Cynnamon Spain   (505) 998-4910

Short Courses
Donna Storment   (505) 998-4910

Copyright 2005 Directed Energy Professional Society   DHTML/JavaScript Menus by OpenCube

Last updated: 27 April 2006