

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact
Cristina Crowson
Director of Communications
Directed Energy Professional Society
(505) 998-4910
Cristina@deps.org

## \$190k Awarded in DE Focused Research Grants to Graduate Students Nationwide

**ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., Aug. 18** - The Directed Energy Professional Society's (DEPS) Board of Scientific & Engineering Advisors (BSEA) as well as its Executive Director, Dr. Sandra Biedron, proudly announced today the 24 DEPS Graduate Scholars for the 2023-2024 academic year.

Graduate scholars were awarded \$2,500 - \$10,000 in research grants to continue studying in directed energy (DE) technology areas. Candidates for the award must be full-time graduate students who are currently studying high energy lasers (HELs), high power microwave (HPM) systems and technologies, ultra-short pulse lasers (USPLs) or counter DE weapon (CDEW) technologies.

Travis Crawford of Purdue University; was selected for the prestigious *Dr. Samuel Blankenship DE Scholar Award*, for his research on Nonlinear Transmission Lines (NLTLs). This is a \$10,000 award granted annually to the individual with the overall outstanding research grant application.

Joshua Follansbee of the University of Arizona was selected for the *Dr. Jack Slater Award,* for his research on active imaging in the short wavelength infrared (SWIR) and extended short wavelength infrared (eSWIR) for HEL targeting systems. Another coveted \$10,000 award, this award is granted annually to the highest scoring student focusing their research efforts on HELs.

Other 2023-24 graduate scholars include: Jacob Barker, University of Arizona (USPL); Matthew Cooper, University of Central Florida (HEL); Ryan Ellis, University of Central Florida (HEL); Noah Hovd, University

of Arizona (USPL); John Hunt, University of Minnesota (HEL); Nicolaus Jennings, University of Texas at Arlington (HPM); Ismail Khan, The Ohio State University (HEL); Bailey Meehan, Clemson University (HEL); Colin Mussman, Pennsylvania State University (HPM); Zareb Noel, University of Notre Dame (HEL); Kimberly Pereira, University of Massachusetts Amherst (HEL); Torin Sammeth, University of New Mexico (HPM); Shawn Scoggin, University of Texas at Arlington (HPM); Sachin Shah, University of Maryland (HEL); Jenny Smith, University of Michigan (HPM); LaShae Smith of UCF (USPL); Zach Tebow of the University of Minnesota (HEL); Owen Thome, University of Central Florida (USPL); Erin Thornton of the University of North Texas (USPL); Nicholas Vail, University of Central Florida (HEL); Travis Wright, Texas Tech University (HPM); and Ryan Yamaguchi, Naval Postgraduate School (HEL).

Since 2011, DEPS has provided nearly \$1.6 million in scholarships. The funds for these awards are provided by grants from the Joint Directed Energy Transition Office (JDETO) and the Office of Naval Research (ONR).

"The Directed Energy Professional Society is once again proud to announce that 24 graduate researchers across 16 universities are being awarded research grants valued up to \$10k. These students are exemplifying some of the best and brightest with research topics that span HELs, HPMs, USPLs, and the many associated technical topics necessary to make these systems function. We want to again thank the OSD R&E JDETO and ONR for their generous contributions to support these grants. With greater than 91% retention rate, these grants are preparing the next generation of valued contributors to the Directed Energy field," said Mr. Jeff Maloney, DEPS Board of Directors Liaison to the BSEA.

The Directed Energy Professional Society fosters research, development, and transition of directed energy technologies, including high energy laser and high-power microwave technologies, for national defense and civilian applications through professional communication and education. For more information, visit <a href="https://www.deps.org">www.deps.org</a>.

**END** 

###