

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Media Contact
Cristina Crowson
Director of Communications
Directed Energy Professional Society
(505) 998-4910
Cristina@deps.org

## 2020-21 Directed Energy Graduate Scholarship Awardees Announced

**ALBUQUERQUE, N.M., Sept. 25-** The Directed Energy Professional Society's (DEPS) Board of Scientific & Engineering Advisors (BSEA) as well as its Executive Director, Mark Neice, proudly announced today the DEPS graduate scholarship awardees for the 2020-2021 academic year.

Thirteen promising students from the total field of applicants were awarded \$10,000 scholarships to continue studying or pursuing a career in directed energy (DE) technology areas.

Matthias Banet, University of Rochester, was selected for the prestigious Dr. Samuel Blankenship Directed Energy Scholar Award, for his research on 3D imaging with frequency-diverse digital holography and image sharpening. This award is a \$10,000 award granted annually to the individual with the outstanding scholarship application.

Joseph Cox, University of Arizona, was selected for the newly named Dr. Jack Slater Award, for his research in evaluation of event-based cameras for target tracking applications. Another \$10,000 award, this award is granted annually to a student focusing their research efforts on high energy lasers (HEL.)

Other 2020-21 scholars include: Andrew Fairbanks of Purdue University (HPM), Stephen Langellotti of the University of Michigan (HPM), Jessica Ma of Johns Hopkins University (HEL), Bailey Meehan of Clemson University (HEL), Michael Nickerson of the University of California, Santa Barbara (HEL); Matt Paliwoda of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (HPM), Kevin Reilly of the University of New

Mexico (HEL), Pawel Strzebonski of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign (HEL), Ray Wambold of the University of Wisconsin-Madison (HEL); Ryan Yamaguchi of the Naval Postgraduate School (HEL), and Josh Young of Baylor University (HEL.)

Candidates for the award must be full-time graduate students who are interested in pursuing or are currently studying the directed energy technology areas of High Energy Lasers (HEL) or High-Power Microwaves (HPM.) Since 2011, DEPS has provided more than \$1 million in scholarships. The funds for these awards are provided by grants from the Directed Energy Joint Transition Office and DEPS.

"DEPS's Scholarship program forms a foundation for encouraging and creating the Directed Energy scientists and engineers of the future. We are very honored to be aiding each of the bright students in this year's award pool," said Dr. Diana Loree, DEPS Board of Directors Liaison to the BSEA.

The Directed Energy Professional Society fosters research, development and transition of directed energy (DE) technologies, including high energy laser (HEL) and high-power microwave (HPM) technologies, for national defense and civilian applications through professional communication and education. For more information, visit <a href="https://www.deps.org">www.deps.org</a>.

**END** 

###