

## Directed Energy Professional Society Annual Business Report

#### Mr Jeff Maloney, President 14 Feb 2017



Directed Energy Professional Society

 Established in 1999 to foster research, development & transition of Directed Energy technology for national defense and civil applications

**Our Goals** 

Foster communication within the DE community Enhance DE education through scholarships & internships Recognize outstanding DE contributions through our Fellows program Publish and archive DE achievements (Journal of Directed Energy) Enable DE Outreach through Professional Conferences and Symposia



# **Annual Achievements**

- Awarded \$155K of graduate Scholarships
  Thanks to HEL JTO and ONR for their support
- Successful 2016 conferences in NM, CO, & VA
  - Classified venues emphasize DE collaboration
  - Sets DEPS apart from other professional societies and commercial conference organizers
- Annual attendance exceeds 450
  - Congratulations to the HSV staff for their efforts!

# **DEPS Financial Status**

- Cash on hand
  - Feb 2016
  - Feb 2017 \$417,000
- 2016 budget
  - Income
  - Expenses
  - Reserve

est \$1,417,000 act \$1,553,824 est \$1,352,000 act \$1,435,424 est \$ 65,000 act \$ 118,400

\$252,300

- Independent Audits
  - 2015 Audit completed November 2016
  - 2016 Audit begun



### **DEPS Board of Directors** Elected by the DEPS Membership

<u>Serving Members</u>	New Directors
Jeff Maloney (L-3)	Don Seeley (ATA)
Harold Schall (Boeing)	Diana Loree (AFRL)
Dave Kiel (NavSea)	
Sean Ross (AFRL)	
Howard Meyer (BAH)	
Dan Marker (AFRL)	



**DEPS Committees** 

- Governance update Completed
  - Updated our Bylaws
  - Human Resources Policy incorporated
- Financial Advisory in progress
  - Dave Kiel & Dan Marker



## **DEPS Officers** Elected by the Board of Directors

<u>Serving Officers</u> President Vice President Secretary Treasurer

<u>New Officers</u> President Vice President Secretary Treasurer Jeff Maloney Dan Marker Sean Ross Harold Schall

Jeff Maloney Howard Meyer Sean Ross Harold Schall



**DE Outreach** 

- DE2DC Informational Outreach to Congressional and DoD decision makers
  - Display at Rayburn House Office Building at Invitation of U.S. House of Representatives Directed Energy Caucus.
  - Display in Pentagon Courtyard at invitation of Undersecretary of Defense for R&D.
  - DE Summit held in conjunction with DE2DC

# Join us in DC – March 28-30



### Directed Energy Caucus Members

Doug Lamborn (co-chair), R-CO

James Langevin (co-chair), D-R.I.

Jim Bridenstine, R-OK

Mo Brooks, R-AL

Mike Conaway, R-TX

Susan Davis, D-CA

John Garamendi, D-CA

Michelle Lujan Grisham, D-N.M.

Alcee Hastings, D-FL

Scott Perry, R-PA

Mike Rogers, R-AL

Tim Ryan, D-OH

David Schweikert, R-AZ

Jackie Walorski, R-IN

Joe Wilson, R-S.C.

**Robert Wittman, R-VA** 

Everyone should encourage their representatives to join the DE Caucus



Professional & Technical Society Consortium

- Participation in Professional & Technical Societies Consortium
  - Coordinated advocacy on issues of importance to all professional & technical societies.
  - Ensuring agency policies that allow for travel/ conference attendance that support agencies' S&T mission & workforce are as burden-free as possible.
  - Collaborative events with BAH, OSA, ITEA, & AIAA



# **Other DEPS Activities**

#### Publications

#### Education

Proceedings Journal of Directed Energy (Open & Limited Edition)

Books

Laser Weapons High Power Fiber Lasers Effects of DE Weapons Beam Control Short Courses Internships Graduate Scholarships

**Support from HEL JTO** 





#### DE2DC & Directed Energy Summit

- 27-31 March, Washington DC
- Sponsored by DEPS, Booz Allen Hamilton & CSBA

#### US-UK Directed Energy Workshop

- 12-17 June, Swindon, UK
- Call for Papers posted (Closes 28 Feb)

#### DEPS Directed Energy Systems Symposium

- 25-29 Sept, Monterey CA
- New Format, 6 Invited Projects to headline Tuesday



### **DEPS Recognitions and Awards**

### Sean Ross, Secretary, DEPS 14 Feb 2017



### **DEPS Board of Directors** Elected by the DEPS Membership

**Serving Members** 

Jeff Maloney (L-3) Harold Schall (Boeing) Dave Kiel (NavSea) Sean Ross (AFRL) Howard Meyer (BAH) Dan Marker (AFRL)

Departing Members Bill Decker (DAU) Mark Henderson (NavAir) Roger McGinnis (FL State) <u>New Directors</u> Don Seeley (ATA) Diana Loree (AFRL)



**DEPS Fellows** 

### **Recognizing Significant DE Contributions**

Fellows of the Directed Energy Professional Society: Esteemed members of the DE community Creative contributions and distinguished service



# **Current DEPS Fellows**

John Albertine Tim Andreadis William Baker Frederick Benning Jorge Beraun Kenneth Billman Sam Blankenship **Robert Butts Jacqueline Gish** Kirk Hackett Kelly Hammett **Richard Holmes** Martin Hubbard

Eric Jumper Demos Kyrazis William Laughlin Louis Marquet Paul McManamon Thomas Meyer Stephanie Miller Michael Murphy Mark Neice George Neil Glen Perram Thomas Romesser

Harold Schall LaVerne Schlie J. Thomas Schriempf Sadegh Siahatgar Alfred Skolnick **Jack Slater** Phillip Sprangle Martin Stickley **David Stoudt** John Tatum **David Titterton** Keith Truesdell **Patrick Vail** 



# **DEPS Fellows Recognition**

- Dr James Horkovich
  - US Air Force, Raytheon & Schafer
- Dr Michael Lavan
  - US Army Space & Missile Defense Command
- Dr Donald Shiffler
  - US Air Force Research Lab
- Mr Chuck Lamar
  - US Army Space & Missile Defense Command